Curve Dental vs Dentrix Ascend: Cost, Contract, Fit

Curve Dental (Curve Hero) vs Dentrix Ascend

Cheapest published price

None

Cheapest published price

None

Prices from the vendor

0 of 3

The rest are labelled third-party estimates

Quick verdict

Curve Dental fits a general practice that wants one straightforward cloud product, wide imaging-device compatibility and the ability to pull its own data at any time. Dentrix Ascend fits a practice that wants tiered packages built around growth, whether that means orthodontic workflows, multiple locations or DSO-scale reporting.

Neither company publishes a price, so a fair comparison starts with getting a written quote for your practice’s size from each of them, not with the numbers third-party sites list.

One product or three tiers

Both are cloud practice management systems that run in a browser, with no office server to buy or patch. That is where the similarity in structure ends.

Curve Dental sells a single product, built for general practices, and prices it by quote. Dentrix Ascend, from Henry Schein One, sells three packages at increasing levels. Essentials includes payments, claims processing, patient booking, and text and email messaging. Pro adds Eligibility Pro checks and multi-location management. Accelerate adds enterprise reporting. Ascend also lists orthodontics and DSOs among the specialties it serves, alongside general practice; Curve’s data lists general practice only.

If your practice plans to add locations, add an orthodontic workflow, or already operates as a DSO, Ascend’s packaging is built with that path in mind. A single general practice that wants to keep things simple has less need for that structure.

What each costs

Neither vendor publishes a price list, so every figure here comes from third-party sites with no stated methodology.

For Curve Dental, SelectHub lists a starting price of $99 a month per user with no stated source or method. Curve does not publish its own prices, and the same SelectHub listing notes that other pricing aggregators show figures that conflict with each other.

For Dentrix Ascend, one site lists $4,788 a year for a single user, with the same page showing $9,588 a year for 10 users and $19,188 a year for 100 users. A second site estimates $500 to $1,200 a month. Neither source explains its numbers.

Because both figures are unverified, use them only as a starting point for the sales conversation, and run any real quotes you get through our cost calculator to compare five-year totals.

Contracts and cancelling

Curve’s term runs 12 months from the date Curve receives your first subscription payment, and it renews automatically for further one-year terms at Curve’s then-current fees. Cancelling before the end of a term means paying the remaining balance of that term. Written notice of cancellation is due at least 90 days before the term ends, and Curve’s usage-based fees can change on 30 days’ notice.

Dentrix Ascend also runs 12-month terms that renew automatically at then-current fees, which Henry Schein One can change with notice by email or an in-product announcement. Written notice of non-renewal is due at least 60 days before the term ends, and leaving early can mean paying for the rest of the term with no refund of fees already paid.

Curve’s 90-day window is the longer of the two, so mark it earlier on the calendar. Missing either deadline commits the practice to another full year.

Getting your data out

Curve lets a practice download its data at any time from inside the application, in a format that works with Microsoft Excel, without waiting for cancellation. Curve’s data policy page does not state whether that download includes images and documents, or what access looks like once the contract ends; we could not confirm either point from the published data.

Dentrix Ascend ties data access to the end of the agreement instead of offering it on demand: the practice can request read-only access and a SQL database copy once the term ends. Data not requested within 90 days can be deleted, and extending read-only access beyond that costs extra.

A practice that wants to keep exporting data through the life of the contract, not only at the end of it, gets that from Curve. A practice that only needs its records once it has already decided to leave gets a defined, if time-limited, process from Ascend.

Switching between the two

Neither vendor publishes what it costs to convert data in from another system, and neither product’s data includes a conversion fee or timeline we can cite. That is a real gap: get both figures in writing, along with which record types convert, before you sign with either one.

Capterra reviewers of Dentrix Ascend describe slow insurance setup and data conversion specifically, which is worth asking a sales rep to address directly if you are moving records into Ascend. We found no equivalent complaint on file for Curve’s conversion process, which is not the same as confirming it is faster; it may simply be less discussed in the reviews we have.

Before you sign, get written answers to:

Imaging and features

Curve includes native imaging and lists integrations with a wide range of capture devices: Dexis, Schick, Carestream, Planmeca, Vatech, Apteryx, Sidexis, Romexis and DTX Studio. Curve’s patient engagement page states that texting, reminders and self-scheduling are included in the subscription with no separate add-on fee; the data does not state whether eligibility checks or claims submission are included.

Dentrix Ascend also includes native imaging, covering 2D, 3D CBCT and CAD/CAM. Its Essentials package explicitly bundles claims processing along with text and email messaging and online booking, so claims are part of the base subscription in a way the Curve data does not confirm for Curve.

On review sites, Curve holds 4.4 out of 5 from 285 Capterra reviews. Reviewers there say new staff learn it quickly and that support responds fast, and they complain about confusing billing and adjustment workflows, weak X-ray viewing, occasional crashes, and mobile features that need a separate GRO subscription. Dentrix Ascend holds 4.1 from 235 reviews, with reviewers praising multi-location management and the interface, and complaining about confusing reporting and long waits for support.

Who should pick which

Pick Curve Dental if you:

Pick Dentrix Ascend if you:

If neither description fits cleanly, the Find my PMS quiz scores both products, and other options, against your specialty, size and budget.

Side by side

Every row comes from our data files, with a link to the source and the date we checked it. Vendor-published means the vendor states it; Estimate (third-party) means a review or pricing site does, not the vendor.

Curve Dental (Curve Hero) and Dentrix Ascend side by side
  Curve Dental (Curve Hero)Dentrix Ascend
Made by Curve DentalHenry Schein One (Henry Schein, Inc.)
How it runs CloudCloud
Works on Web browserWeb browser, Windows, Mac, iOS
Built for General dentistryGeneral dentistry, Orthodontics, DSO / group practice
Practice sizes Startup, Solo practice, Small group, Multi-location, DSOStartup, Solo practice, Small group, Multi-location, DSO
Price

Vendor does not publish prices.

Vendor does not publish prices.

Contract term 12 months from Curve's receipt of the first subscription payment. Cancelling before the end of a term means paying the remaining balance of that term. Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 12-month initial term. New licenses added to an existing subscription end on the same date as that subscription. Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Renewal Renews automatically for one-year terms at Curve's then-current fees. Variable usage fees can change on 30 days' written notice. Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Renews for 12-month terms at the then-current fees. Henry Schein One can change fees on notice by email or in-product announcement. Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Notice to cancel 90 days' advance written notice before the end of the current term. Terms updated June 1, 2026. Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Written notice of non-renewal is due at least 60 days before the term ends. Leaving early can mean paying the rest of the term. Prepaid fees are not refunded. Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Getting your data out The practice can download its data at any time from inside the application, in a format compatible with Microsoft Excel. The page does not cover images, documents or access after cancellation. Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 When the agreement ends, the practice can request read-only access and a copy of its data in SQL database format. Data not requested within 90 days can be deleted. Extending read-only access costs extra. Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Data conversion in Not publishedNot published
Built-in imaging Included Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Patient texting Included Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at henryscheinone.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Insurance eligibility checks Unclear Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Unclear Vendor-published at henryscheinone.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Claims submission Unclear Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at henryscheinone.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Online forms Unclear Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Unclear Vendor-published at henryscheinone.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Online scheduling Included Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at henryscheinone.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Perio charting Unclear No record Included Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
E-prescribing Unclear Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 Included Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Ease of use 4.3 / 5 from 285 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 3.9 / 5 from 235 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Customer service 4.5 / 5 from 285 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 4.3 / 5 from 235 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Features 4.1 / 5 from 285 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 3.9 / 5 from 235 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Value for money 4.3 / 5 from 285 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 4.0 / 5 from 235 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Review-site rating

Capterra: 4.4 / 5 from 285 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

Capterra: 4.1 / 5 from 235 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

Vendor-claimed users Curve claims 100,000+ active users and 6,000+ practice locations in the US and Canada. Vendor-published at curvedental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 80,000+ clinicians, office managers and office staff use Ascend (vendor claim; no practice count given). Vendor-published at dentrixascend.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

Capability rows cover the base product or cheapest plan, and each one links the page that claim came from. "Paid add-on" and "higher tier only" mean the vendor sells it separately or puts it in a pricier package. "Unclear" with a source means we read that page and could not establish an answer; "Unclear" with no record means we have not checked that capability on that product. Neither one says the product lacks it. 11 of the 18 capabilities we track are not yet checked on either product, so they have no row here.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Curve Dental and Dentrix Ascend?

Both run in a browser with no office server. Curve Dental sells one product built for general practices. Dentrix Ascend, from Henry Schein One, sells three packages, Essentials, Pro and Accelerate, with features aimed at orthodontic practices and multi-location groups as well as general offices.

How much does Curve Dental cost?

Curve does not publish prices. One third-party listing (SelectHub) shows $99 a month per user with no stated source or method, and that same listing notes that other pricing aggregators show conflicting figures for Curve. Dentrix Ascend also publishes no price; third-party estimates put it at $500 to $1,200 a month. Get a written quote from both before comparing.

How much notice do I need to cancel Curve Dental or Dentrix Ascend?

Curve requires 90 days' written notice before the end of the current 12-month term. Dentrix Ascend requires 60 days' written notice of non-renewal. Both bill you for the rest of the term if you leave early.

Can I export my data from Curve Dental?

Curve lets a practice download its data at any time from inside the application, in a format compatible with Microsoft Excel. Curve's data policy page does not say whether that covers images and documents, or what happens to access after cancellation. Dentrix Ascend instead ties data access to the end of the contract: a read-only copy in SQL format, requested within 90 days of termination.

Does Curve Dental include imaging?

Yes. Curve includes native imaging and lists integrations with Dexis, Schick, Carestream, Planmeca, Vatech, Apteryx, Sidexis and Romexis capture devices, among others. Dentrix Ascend also includes native imaging for 2D, 3D CBCT and CAD/CAM.

Next steps