Archy vs Oryx: Price, Contract and Data Export

Archy vs Oryx

Cheapest published price

$899 /month per location

Cheapest published price

$650 /month

Prices from the vendor

12 of 12

The rest are labelled third-party estimates

Quick verdict

Pick Archy if you want one published price per location, with no per-provider math, and you run a general practice. Archy is recorded for general dentistry only, and it lists online forms, online scheduling, texting, eligibility checks and claims as included in the $899 a month price.

Pick Oryx if you want the lower published entry price, a month-to-month contract after year one, a data export that covers images and DICOM files in their original formats, or a specialty practice. Oryx is recorded for general, pediatric, orthodontics, oral surgery and periodontics.

Both run in a browser, both sell to practices from startups to DSOs, and both publish a new-practice rate. Neither has a large pool of third-party reviews, and Oryx has none in our records.

Price

Archy publishes one price. It is $899 a month per location, and the price covers unlimited users, providers, claim submissions, eligibility checks and texting. Integrated imaging, online forms and online scheduling are part of it. The Clinical, Front Office and Marketing suites are add-ons with quote-only prices, and e-prescribing is an add-on with no published price.

Oryx publishes three plans, each with up to 2 providers:

Extra providers on Pro or Automate cost $100 a month each. On the AI plan they cost $200 a month each. Oryx lists its prices per month and does not state a per-location unit, so we cannot say how a multi-location group is billed. Ask for that in writing.

The closest like-for-like pair is Archy at $899 and Oryx Automate at $899. Oryx Pro at $650 is the lowest figure on either list, and a practice with 2 providers or fewer pays only that. Archy’s flat price covers unlimited providers, so it stops being the more expensive option only when you add provider seats on the Oryx side. The cost calculator runs your own provider count against both.

Oryx also says that for new customers, payments on Pro start 3 months after signup. That is a note on its pricing page, and it is separate from the startup offer below.

New-practice rates

Oryx charges $0 a month on Pro or Automate for new practices with up to 2 providers, plus a $1 setup fee. The regular price starts at 200 patients or 12 months after signup, whichever comes first. A separate AI startup offer is $400 a month, also with a $1 setup fee, and it includes AI annotations and eScript, with the same 200-patient or 12-month limit.

Archy charges $400 a month per location until a practice reaches 400 patients or one year.

The regular price applies once an introductory rate ends. A practice that opens with more patients than the limit may never use the offer.

Setup and conversion fees

Oryx says a setup fee, a data-conversion fee and an image-conversion fee all apply to offices switching from other software. It publishes no amounts, and sales quotes them. Archy publishes no setup or conversion fee, and we have no conversion record for it.

Contracts and cancelling

Oryx publishes a 12-month initial contract, then month-to-month. Its pricing page states no notice period and no early-termination terms, so read the agreement before you sign.

Archy’s initial term is whatever your signed Order Form says, and you agree to pay fees for the entire term. You can end it early only for cause. Each term then renews automatically for successive one-month periods. Archy can change its fees at the end of the initial term or any renewal term, and you give 30 days’ written notice of non-renewal. Its Master Service Agreement was last updated March 18, 2025.

The two end up in a similar place after the first term, since both go month to month. Oryx names a first term of 12 months. Archy names nothing until you see the Order Form, so ask for it early and compare the length it states.

Our contracts and exit fees guide compares notice periods across the whole market.

Getting your data out

Oryx says an export can be requested at any time or at termination. Structured data comes as CSV. Documents, images, radiographs and DICOM files come in their original formats. Oryx says it does not delete data at termination until the practice has had time to export, and it states no export fee. The source is Oryx’s FAQ page, checked 2026-09-26.

Archy gives you one export of your data in a structured, common format at no cost, if you request it in writing on or before the termination date. If you need continued access after that, it costs $200 a month. If you neither request the export nor pay for access, Archy deletes the data. That $200 is an exit fee, and it is not part of what you pay while using the system.

Oryx is clearer on what an export contains. Archy’s agreement does not say whether images and documents come out in their original formats. Ask Archy what an export includes, and get the answer in writing, before you rely on it.

Features

Both list these as included, according to their own pricing pages: texting, eligibility checks, claims, online forms and online scheduling.

Where they differ:

Both have native imaging. Neither record covers a mobile app, so we make no claim about one.

Imaging and AI integrations

Archy states that x-rays are captured with Pearl AI reading them live. That is Archy’s own statement, checked 2026-10-02.

Oryx states that diagnostic AI from Pearl and from Overjet is built directly into Oryx imaging. That is also the vendor’s own statement, checked 2026-10-02. Oryx’s pricing page puts AI imaging integration in the $1,399 AI plan, so ask which plan carries the Pearl and Overjet readings before you assume they come with Pro.

We hold no record from the Pearl or Overjet side for either system, so we cannot say whether those companies list them. We also hold no Overjet record for Archy. The link is unrecorded, which leaves it unclear.

Reviews and track record

Archy has 6 Capterra reviews and a 4.7 score. Both figures come from a third party, so treat them as estimates. Six reviews is too small a sample to weigh heavily.

Measure Archy Oryx
Overall score 4.7 No record
Reviews 6 No record
Ease of use 4.5 No record
Customer service 4.2 No record
Features 4.3 No record
Value 4.5 No record

We have no rating record for Oryx, so the table has nothing to say about its quality. Ask Oryx for customer references.

Reviewers say staff without dental backgrounds learn Archy easily and that auto-verification, forms and reminders save front-desk time. Complaints are trouble moving X-rays during conversion, a ledger that works differently from other systems, charting display issues and limited report customization.

On company size, both vendors publish their own claims. Archy says about 1,000 practices in 45 states. Oryx says 15,000+ clinicians and more than 2,500 practices across five continents, and says it is self-funded. Archy was founded in 2021 and Oryx in 2016. Neither claim is audited.

Oryx also runs an ambassador program that pays current users credit for referrals and reference calls, so a referral from an Oryx user may come with a payment.

Who should pick which

Pick Archy if you:

Pick Oryx if you:

If you are comparing more than two, the Find my PMS quiz scores both against your specialty, size and budget. For other pairings, see Archy vs CareStack and CareStack vs Oryx.

Side by side

Every row comes from our data files, with a link to the source and the date we checked it. Vendor-published means the vendor states it; Estimate (third-party) means a review or pricing site does, not the vendor.

Archy and Oryx side by side
  ArchyOryx
Made by Archy Dental, Inc.Oryx Dental Software
How it runs CloudCloud
Works on Web browserWeb browser
Built for General dentistryGeneral dentistry, Pediatric, Orthodontics, Oral surgery, Periodontics
Practice sizes Startup, Solo practice, Small group, Multi-location, DSOStartup, Solo practice, Small group, Multi-location, DSO
Price
Contract term The term is set on the Order Form, and the practice agrees to pay fees for the entire term. The practice can end early only for cause. Master Service Agreement last updated March 18, 2025. Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 12-month initial contract, then month-to-month. Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Renewal Each term renews automatically for successive one-month periods. Archy can change fees at the end of the initial term or a renewal term. Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Not published
Notice to cancel 30 days' written notice of non-renewal before the end of the current term. Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Not published
Getting your data out One export of customer data in a structured, common format at no cost, if the practice requests it in writing on or before the termination date. Continued access after that costs $200/month; otherwise Archy deletes the data. Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

Data access after termination: $200/month Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

Export can be requested at any time or at termination. Structured data comes as CSV; documents, images, radiographs and DICOM files come in original formats. Oryx says it does not delete data at termination until the practice has had time to export. No export fee is stated. Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Data conversion in Not publishedData and image conversion are available. Switching offices pay a setup fee, a data-conversion fee and an image-conversion fee; amounts are quoted by sales. Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Built-in imaging Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Patient texting Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Insurance eligibility checks Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Claims submission Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Online forms Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Online scheduling Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026
Perio charting Included Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 Unclear Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
E-prescribing Unclear No record Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Reporting dashboards Unclear No record Included Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Multi-location reporting Unclear No record Higher tier only Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
API access Unclear No record Higher tier only Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Oct 2, 2026
Ease of use 4.5 / 5 from 6 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 No sub-scores found
Customer service 4.2 / 5 from 6 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 No sub-scores found
Features 4.3 / 5 from 6 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 No sub-scores found
Value for money 4.5 / 5 from 6 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Oct 2, 2026 No sub-scores found
Review-site rating

Capterra: 4.7 / 5 from 6 reviews Third-party source at capterra.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

No rating found
Vendor-claimed users Archy claims about 1,000 practices in 45 states and more than $300M in payments processed per year (September 11, 2026, with its $50M Series C led by JMI Equity). Vendor-published at archy.com · checked Sep 26, 2026 Oryx claims 15,000+ clinicians and more than 2,500 practices across five continents. The company says it is self-funded. Vendor-published at oryxdental.com · checked Sep 26, 2026

Capability rows cover the base product or cheapest plan, and each one links the page that claim came from. "Paid add-on" and "higher tier only" mean the vendor sells it separately or puts it in a pricier package. "Unclear" with a source means we read that page and could not establish an answer; "Unclear" with no record means we have not checked that capability on that product. Neither one says the product lacks it. 8 of the 18 capabilities we track are not yet checked on either product, so they have no row here.

Frequently asked questions

Is Archy or Oryx cheaper?

Oryx lists the lower entry price. Pro is $650 a month with up to 2 providers, and each additional provider is $100 a month. Archy is $899 a month per location with unlimited users and providers. Oryx Automate is also $899 a month, so the comparison depends on which Oryx plan has the features you need and how many providers you have.

Which one is better for a new practice?

Both publish a new-practice rate. Oryx charges $0 a month on Pro or Automate for new practices with up to 2 providers, plus a $1 setup fee, until 200 patients or 12 months. Archy charges $400 a month per location until 400 patients or one year. Oryx's offer is lower on its face, and Archy's covers unlimited providers.

Which has the more flexible contract?

Oryx publishes a 12-month initial contract and then month-to-month. Archy sets the term on your Order Form, holds you to the fees for the entire term and lets you end early only for cause, then renews monthly. Oryx's page does not state a notice period, and Archy asks for 30 days' written notice of non-renewal.

What happens to my data if I leave?

Archy gives you one export in a structured, common format at no cost if you ask in writing on or before the termination date. Continued access after that costs $200 a month. Oryx says an export can be requested at any time, with CSV for structured data and original formats for images, radiographs and DICOM files, and it states no export fee.

Do Archy and Oryx include AI imaging?

Both say so on their own sites. Archy states that x-rays are captured with Pearl AI reading them live. Oryx states that diagnostic AI from Pearl and from Overjet is built directly into its imaging. We have no record from the Pearl or Overjet side, and Oryx lists its AI imaging integration under the $1,399 AI plan.

Next steps